

## Monday, 1st May 2023

## E.A.T. Timings / U.T.C. +3h Timings / C.E.T. +1h Timings

Arrival of participants

12:00 Check-in at Serena Hotel

19:00 – 22:30 Informal buffet dinner at Café Maghreb in Serena Hotel

## Tuesday, 2nd May 2023

08:00 – 08:30	Registration

09:00 - 09:15 Welcoming by the Hosts:

Dr. Stefanie Rothenberger, Director, KAS Rule of Law Program

Fernanda San Martin, Director, IPPFoRB

Master of Ceremonies: Debarl Inea

09:15 – 09:50 Opening remarks by:

Abid Raja, IPPFoRB SG Chair, MP Norway

Hon. Nqabayomzi Kwankwa, IPPFoRB SG Member, Chair AfriPaHR

Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert, Chairman of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation,

President of the German Bundestag (retired)

Rt. Hon. Moses Wetangula, Speaker of the National Assembly

09:50 – 10:05 Group photo

10:05 – 10:30 Coffee Break

10:30 – 11:30 Promoting Freedom of Religion or Belief in the Context of the Sustainable

**Development Goals** 

Prof. Dr. Nazila Ghanea, UN Special Rapporteur for FORB







11:30 – 13:00 Sofa Conversation 1: FoRB and SDGs: The Role of Parliamentarians

Panellists:

Hon. Thembisile Khanyile (South Africa) TBC,

Hon. Mercy Barends (Indonesia), Hon. Nafisa Shah (Pakistan), Hon. Damaris Kuo (Brazil),

Hon. Lana Prlic (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Moderated by: Prof. Dr. Nazila Ghanea, UN Special Rapporteur on FoRB

13:00 - 14:00 Lunch

14:00 – 16:00 Thematic Workshops

FoRB and Gender (SDG 5)

Moderator: Fernanda San Martin, Director IPPFoRB

SDG Expert: Prof. Dr. Nazila Ghanea, UN Special Rapporteur on FoRB

FoRB and Education (SDG 4)

Moderator: Ibrahim Inusah, Coordinator ACEPA

SDG Expert: Ed Brown, Stefanusaliansen

For and Freedom of Expression (SDG 16)

Moderator: Issifu Lampo, Coordinator ACEPA

SDG Expert: Dr. Thiago Alves, Oxford University

FoRB and Environment and Climate Justice (SDG 13)

Moderator: Rev. Prof. Dr. Aidan Msafiri, Kilimanjaro Consortium for

Development and Environment (KCDE)

SDG Expert: Prof. Kameri Mbote, Head of Law Division UNEP

16:00 – 16:30 Coffee Break

16:30 – 17:30 Plenary: Report back from the Thematic Workshops

Moderated by: Debarl Inea

18:45 – 22:00 Formal Dinner at Serena Hotel

Welcome by:

Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert, Chairman of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation,

President of the German Bundestag (retired)

Guest of Honor:

Rtd. Hon. David Maraga, Former Chief Justice of the Republic of Kenya

Screening of the KAS documentary film: Journey to Justice

## Wednesday, 3rd May 2023

08:00 – 08:30 Registration

08:45 – 10:30 Sofa Conversation 2: Partnerships for Change (SDG 17)

Panellists:

Hon. Esther Jailosi Jolobala (Member of Parliament, Malawi),

Hon. Asiya Nasir (Former MP Pakistan, Coordinator FoRB LN Pakistan,

Director of Resilient Women's Network),

Dr. David Oginde (Chairman of Evangelical Alliance of Kenya, Vice Chair of Association of Evangelicals in Africa & Nominee, Chairman of Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC), Kenya),

Hon. Justice Mandala Mambulasa (Judge Malawi)

Øystein Lyngroth (Special Envoy for Freedom of Religion or Belief and Head of

IHRA delegation, Norway)

Moderator: Dr. Rasheed Draman, African Center for Parliamentary Affairs (ACEPA)

10:30 – 11:00 Coffee Break

11:00 – 12:30 Sofa Conversation 3: Partnerships for Change – Engaging the Youth (SDG 17)

Panellists:

Hon. Maina Karobia Mwangi (MP EALA),

Hon. Alejandra Camargo (MP Bolivia)

Youth representatives: TBC

Dr. Linda Ochola, Director Hatua Trust

Moderator: Prof. Tomasz P. Milej, Law Professor, Kenyatta University School of

Law

12:30 – 13:30 Lunch

13:30 – 15:00 Regional Working Groups

Regional workshop – Africa

Moderator: Hon. Ngabayomzi Kwankwa (MP South Africa)

Regional workshop – Asia

Moderator: Dr. Shahnaz Karim, Coordinator FoRB LN Bangladesh

Regional workshop - Europe

	<b>Moderator</b> : Berit Lindeman, Secretary General of the Norwegian Helsinki Committee
	Regional workshop – Latin America  Moderator: Fernanda San Martin, Director IPPFoRB
15:00 – 15:15	Coffee break   Last opportunity for delegates to sign the Nairobi Declaration
15:15 – 16:15	Plenary: Report back from the Regional Working Groups by the appointed rapporteurs
	Moderated by: Debarl Inea
16:15 – 16:45	Closing remarks and the way forward
	Abid Raja, IPPFoRB SG Chair, MP Norway
	Hon. Nqabayomzi Kwankwa, IPPFoRB SG Member, Chair AfriPaHR
	Hon. Hermann Gröhe, Deputy Chairman of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation
	Rt. Hon. Amason Kingi Jeffah, Speaker of the Kenyan Senate
16:45 – 17:00	Signing of the Nairobi Declaration by the Chairpersons   festive handover of the Declaration to Prof. Dr. Nazila Ghanea, UN Special Rapporteur for FORB
17:00 – 17:15	Farewell and Vote of Thanks:
	Fernanda San Martin, Director, IPPFoRB Dr. Stefanie Rothenberger, Director, KAS Rule of Law Program